Awards

The Health Humanities Consortium bestows two awards each year through a rigorous and competitive process.


Health Humanities Visionary Award

Honors an individual who has made sustained and exceptional contributions to the field of health humanities in the realms of education, research, or leadership.

Qualifications for the Visionary Award may include, for example:

  • Contributions of enduring quality and ongoing impact
  • Contributions with wide-reaching effects and significant professional or public visibility
  • Contributions that advance the health humanities regionally, nationally, or internationally
Honorees

Therese (Tess) Jones, Ph.D. – 2022


Lifetime Achievement & Service Award

Honors an individual who has made sustained and exceptional contributions to the field of health humanities in the realms of service, administration, or leadership.

Qualifications for the Lifetime Achievement and Service Award may include, for example:

  • Outstanding service and leadership contributions to the Health Humanities Consortium
  • Outstanding contributions in such roles as, for instance, journal editor or conference organizer
Honorees

Audrey Shafer, MD – 2022


Nomination Process

Nominations for both awards may be submitted by any HHC member. Note that you will be asked to designate the award you are nominating for (a single nominator may nominate only one candidate for each award) and to provide:

  • Nominator’s name, email address, and phone number
  • Name and email address of nominee
  • Recent CV of nominee
  • Cover letter by the nominator addressing the eligibility criteria and the individual’s impact on the health humanities
  • Up to two additional letters of support
  • PDF format, single file preferred

NOMINATION DEADLINE: Tuesday, January 17, 2023, 5:00 pm PST/6pm MST/7pm CST/8pm EST

Nominations may be submitted HERE.

If you have any questions, please contact awards@healthhumanitiesconsortium.com. Awardees will be honored at the HHC business meeting held during the annual HHC conference.  Recipients will receive both a commemorative award and a professionally framed work of art of their choosing from Amplifier, a nonprofit design lab that combines art and activism.